For Immediate Release on February 6, 2013
Contact: Cassandra Stalzer, 907-334-0520

Distinguished Artist nominations open

Anchorage -  Do you have a favorite Alaska artist who deserves recognition, or are you one yourself? Now is the time to submit nominations for Rasmuson Foundation’s 2013 Distinguished Artist Award.  

Rasmuson Foundation offers one Distinguished Artist Award annually to recognize the superior artistic accomplishments of an Alaska artist. This year the foundation will award $40,000 to the selected artist, the largest amount provided since the award program’s inception in 2004.

“The Distinguished Artist Award is an opportunity to recognize the talents and contributions of extraordinary Alaska artists,” said Jayson Smart, program officer for Rasmuson Foundation. “The award not only validates the excellence of creative work, but also supports their future creative endeavors.”

Past winners of the Distinguished Artist Award are Rie Munoz of Juneau; Kes Woodward, John Luther Adams and John Haines of Fairbanks; Ron Senungetuk of Homer; Sylvester Ayek of Nome, and Delores Elizabeth Churchill, Ray Troll and Nathan Jackson of Ketchikan.

Eligible artists include those who have dedicated themselves for at least the past 15 years to a significant professional arts career of any artistic discipline. Artists should also have an extensive independent body of work representing a life-long investigation and maturation of their personal creativity. Their work is usually widely recognized and influential in style, aesthetic or form.

Public nominations of artists who meet the Distinguished Artist Award criteria are welcome. Artists can also nominate themselves. Nominations can be submitted online or by mail, and forms are available at

The Distinguished Artist Award is part of the Rasmuson Foundation’s Individual Artist Awards program. Since 2004 the program has awarded 269 grants to Alaska artists totaling just over $1.9 million.

The Individual Artist Awards program also awards project grants of $7,500 for artists with short-term project needs, in addition to artist fellowship awards of $18,000 for mid-career and mature artists to advance their career.
Additional information is available by calling 907-297-2700 or 877-366-2700 (toll free in Alaska), or by writing Rasmuson Foundation, 301 W Northern Lights Boulevard, Suite 300, Anchorage, Alaska 99503.

About the Foundation
Rasmuson Foundation was created in May 1955 by Jenny Rasmuson to honor her late husband, “E.A.” Rasmuson. The Foundation is a catalyst to promote a better life for all Alaskans.