Online application open January 1 to March 1

Rasmuson Foundation honors the merit and significance of a life dedicated to serious artistic exploration and growth. The Foundation believes an artist’s energy, ideas, and creative drive cannot bear fruit without time devoted to experimentation, education, and personal reflection. We also acknowledge artists need opportunities to explore at various stages of their artistic careers.

With these guiding principles in mind, the Rasmuson Foundation has created three award programs for individual artists living and working in Alaska:

  • Project Awards: Awards of $7,500 for emerging, mid-career, and mature artists in all disciplines for specific, short-term projects that have a clear benefit to the artist and the development of his/her work. Approximately 25 Project Awards are granted annually. Project Awards are available in all 11 artistic disciplines.
  • Fellowships: $18,000 awards for mid-career or mature artists to focus their energy and attention for a one-year period on developing their creative work. The Fellowship program awards grants in 11 artistic disciplines that rotate on a two-year cycle. Approximately 10 Fellowships are awarded each year.
    2017 Fellowships 2018 Fellowships
    Choreography Media Arts
    Crafts Multidiscipline
    Folk and Traditional Arts Music Composition
    Literary Arts/Scriptworks New Genre
    Performance Art Presentation/Interpretation
    Visual Arts
  • Distinguished Artist Award: A single $40,000 annual award for a mature artist of recognized stature with a history of creative excellence and accomplishment in the arts.

The Distinguished Artist Award and the Fellowships and Project awards have distinct applications and review processes. These awards provide artists the resources to concentrate and reflect on their work, to immerse themselves in a creative endeavor, and to experiment, explore, and develop their artistry more fully. It is our hope that these investments result in substantial contributions to Alaska’s culture, the vibrancy of our communities, and to art itself.

The Foundation will host a series of workshops to provide an overview of the grant options and to answer application related questions.

  • Bethel: 12:30 to 1:30 p.m. on January 17 in the Alaska Room at the Kuskokwim Consortium Library.
  • Anchorage/Remote: Noon to 1:00 p.m. on January 20 at Rasmuson Foundation. For those of you planning to attend in person, please contact Program Associate Sharity Sommer via email ( or phone (907.334.0516) to RSVP. This event is also accessible via internet and phone.Teleconference access:
    1 (877) 615-4337 Audience US Toll-Free
    1 (847) 944-7273 Audience US Toll

Audience Passcode: 8244 547

Webinar access:

  • Kodiak: 1:00 to 2:oo p.m. on January 20 in the Koniag Conference Room at 194 Alimaq Drive.
  • Fairbanks: 5:30 to 7:00 p.m. on January 23 in the Bear Gallery at the Alaska Centennial Center for the Arts.
  • Juneau: Noon to 1:00 p.m. on January 24 at the Juneau Arts and Culture Center.
  • Mat-Su: Noon to 1:00 p.m. on February 1 at MyHouse (300 Willow Street).

Additional information can be found in blog posts tagged “IAA”this list of past awardees, and on the Rasmuson Foundation YouTube channel. “How to Write an Artist Statement: Explaining the Unexplainable” is a useful post (outside resource) for getting started on your statement. For more arts funding opportunities visit the New York Foundation for the Arts NYFA Source.

How to Apply
Applications, the Distinguished Artist Nomination form, and guidelines are available online or by request from Jan. 1 until March 1 at 11:59 p.m. To Apply, follow the link on the top right corner of the page. For a paper application, call or email the Program Officer listed in the sidebar. Paper applications must be postmarked by March 1 or delivered to the office by 5 p.m.