Michele Brown

Senior Fellow

Email: mbrown@rasmuson.org

Michele Brown joined Rasmuson Foundation in April 2021 as our senior fellow focused on homelessness. Through innovative strategies and partnerships, she is helping our community ensure everyone has a home.

Michele comes with a rich background in nonprofit and government work. She retired as president of United Way of Anchorage in 2020 after 17 years of service. Under her watch, the United Way launched the statewide helpline Alaska 2-1-1 and a cold weather shelter system serving families. It enrolled more Alaskans in health insurance under the Affordable Care Act and increased permanent supportive housing with the Home for Good pilot program serving those who have been chronically homeless. Before the United Way, Brown served seven years as commissioner of the Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation under Gov. Tony Knowles. She also served as an assistant attorney general under multiple state administrations. She was the first state attorney at the Exxon Valdez oil spill and later advised the state on response efforts. She spent 2½ years with the U.S. Embassy in Moscow developing programs to improve life in Russia.

Michele has a Bachelor of Arts in philosophy and humanities from University of California Berkeley and a law degree from University of California Davis.

Among other recognitions, she has been honored with the University of Alaska Anchorage Meritorious Service Award in 2018 and the Congregation Beth Sholom Shining Lights Award in 2015


Roy Agloinga

Program Officer of External Affairs

Jeff Baird

Chief of Staff

Sydney Copley

Executive Assistant to Vice President

Angela Cox

Vice President of External Affairs

Lisa Demer

Communications Manager

Bob Doehl

Senior Fellow

Tanya King Dumas

Senior Program Officer

Julee Farley

Vice President of Finance and Administration

Monica Garcia-Itchoak

Program Officer

Christina Gheen

Grant Management Associate

Carmen Goodwin

Payroll and Benefits Administrator

Jess Haley

Manager of the President's Office

Rodney Hamilton

IT Operations Manager

Marian Hunter

Grants Manager

Diane Kaplan

President and CEO

Emily Kwon

External Affairs Associate

Ted Mala

Program Fellow

Enzina Marrari

Program Officer

Alexandra McKay

Vice President of Programs

Erin Milan

Administrative Assistant

Samona Norombaba

Special Assistant to Vice President of Programs

Kris Palmatier

Director of Finance

Chris Perez

Director of Programs

Allison Ruoff

Finance Assistant

Lailani Stone

Finance Assistant

Deborah Vo

Program Officer

Sonya Wellman

Director of Events