Sonya Wellman

Director of Events

Phone: (907) 334- 0514


Sonya Wellman was born and raised in Anchorage, and graduated from the University of Oregon with a degree in journalism and an emphasis in public relations. She began her career at Visit Anchorage, the convention and visitors’ bureau for the Municipality of Anchorage, before becoming promotions and marketing director for the Alaska nightclub Chilkoot Charlie’s. From there, Sonya jumped into the nonprofit sector and was executive director of the United Way of Grays and Pacific Counties in Washington state. She continued fundraising and development for other nonprofits in Washington and Alaska before joining Alaska Public Media as director of special events and then the Hard Rock Cafe Anchorage as sales and marketing manager.

Sonya’s community involvement includes Abused Women’s Aid in Crisis Silent Nights Starry Nights Gala, Anchorage Centennial Celebration events and the Anchorage Fur Rendezvous Festival. She has served on the board of Visit Anchorage and continues to serve on the board of Visit Anchorage Helping Anchorage, the charitable arm of Visit Anchorage.

Outside of work, Sonya enjoys spending time fishing, hiking, cooking, writing and traveling.


Roy Agloinga

Program Officer of External Affairs

Jeff Baird

Chief of Staff

Michele Brown

Senior Fellow

Sydney Copley

Executive Assistant to Vice President

Angela Cox

Vice President of External Affairs

Lisa Demer

Communications Manager

Bob Doehl

Senior Fellow

Julee Farley

Vice President of Finance and Administration

Monica Garcia-Itchoak

Program Officer

Christina Gheen

Grant Management Associate

Carmen Goodwin

Payroll and Benefits Manager

Jess Haley

Manager of the President's Office

Marian Hunter

Grants Manager

Diane Kaplan

President and CEO

Tanya King

Senior Program Officer

Emily Kwon

External Affairs Associate

Ted Mala

Program Fellow

Enzina Marrari

Program Officer

Alexandra McKay

Vice President of Programs

Erin Milan

Executive Assistant to the President and CEO

Samona Norombaba

Special Assistant to Vice President of Programs

Kris Palmatier

Director of Finance

Chris Perez

Director of Programs

Allison Ruoff

Office Assistant

Lailani Stone

Finance Assistant

Deborah Vo

Program Officer