Vaughnetta Barton

Program Officer - External Affairs

Phone: (907) 334-0520


Vaughnetta Barton joined Rasmuson Foundation in March 2019 with more than 30 years of experience with nonprofits. Vaughnetta’s career has centered around community collaboration, grantmaking, and program development, all through lenses of partnership and strengthening organizations.

Over the years, she has held leadership positions in workforce development, early learning and mentoring as well as with several credit unions. Prior to joining Rasmuson Foundation, Vaughnetta launched the University of Washington School of Social Work’s prevention-based project, Communities in Action. She served as a clinical assistant professor providing opportunities for graduate students to practice community-centered social work. At Philanthropy Northwest, a close Foundation partner, she developed its fundraising strategy.

Vaughnetta holds a master’s degree in social work administration from the University of Washington and a bachelor’s degree in sociology from Central Washington University. She is an alum of the Puget Sound-area’s Leadership Tomorrow and a former Marshall Memorial Fellow. A lifelong volunteer, she most recently served on The Seattle Public Library’s board of trustees.

Vaughnetta embraces Nelson Mandela’s belief that “education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.” As newcomers to the state, Vaughnetta and her husband are looking forward to reconnecting with Alaska family and friends.



Roy Agloinga

Program Officer

Jeff Baird

Chief of Staff

Deborah Bitney

Vice President of Finance and Administration

Angela Cox

Vice President of External Affairs

Lisa Demer

Communications Manager

Tanya Dumas

Program Officer

Carmen Goodwin

Payroll and Benefits Administrator

Jess Haley

Executive Assistant to the President / Board Liaison

Josh Hemsath

Program Fellow

Stephanie Hubers

Executive Assistant to the Vice Presidents

Marian Hunter

Grants Manager

Diane Kaplan

President and CEO

Emily Kwon

External Affairs Associate

Allison Macanga

Administrative Assistant

Dick Mandsager

Senior Fellow

Enzina Marrari

Program Officer

Alexandra McKay

Vice President of Programs

Picture of Momentum Program Fellow Tristan Morgan

Tristan Agnauraq Morgan

Program Fellow

Samona Norombaba

Finance and Grants Assistant

Kris Palmatier

Director of Finance

Chris Perez

Senior Program Officer

Shawn Rivera

Director of IT

Todd Shenk

Senior Program Officer

Sharity Sommer

Program Officer

Sonya Wellman

Events Manager