Nominations are now closed.

Rasmuson Foundation offers one annual $40,000 Distinguished Artist Award in recognition of an Alaska artist’s creative excellence and superior accomplishments in the arts. The award is a validation of the artist’s creative output and contributions to the state of Alaska. It is also an acknowledgement of the artist’s potential for subsequent creative work.

Mature, established artists are eligible to receive the Distinguished Artist Award. Mature artists are those who have created an extensive independent body of work representing a life-long investigation and maturation of their personal creativity. They must have decades of experience creating art and contributing to advancement of arts and culture in Alaska. Artists may work in any artistic discipline.

Past recipients of the Distinguished Artist Award are Alvin Amason of Kodiak and Anchorage; Gertrude Svarny of Unalaska; Garry Kaulitz and Don Decker of Anchorage; Peggy Shumaker, Kes Woodward, John Luther Adams and John Haines of Fairbanks; Teri Rofkar of Sitka; Rie Munoz of Juneau; Ron Senungetuk of Homer; Sylvester Ayek of Nome; and Delores Elizabeth Churchill, Ray Troll and Nathan Jackson of Ketchikan.

We welcome public nominations of artists who meet the Distinguished Artist Award criteria. Artists can nominate themselves. An application package from the artist is not necessary to receive this award. Nominations are open October 1 through December 15.