Learn the secrets to a successful application from three Alaskans who have submitted successful – and unsuccessful – applications for the Individual Artist Awards. In this blog post, Alaska artists Andromeda Romano-Lax, Hal Gage and Sheila Wyne share some of their lessons learned.

secrets revealedWhether you’re an established artist or a newbie dipping your toe in, consider applying for one of Rasmuson Foundation’s Individual Artist Awards. The 60-day application period opened Jan. 1 and we’re hoping to attract more applications than ever.

Individual Artist Awards support Alaska artists in 10 disciplines at various stages of their careers and creative development. Awards are made in three categories – project awards, artist fellowship awards and the Distinguished Artist award.

There’s plenty of support for applicants: In the video Artist Application Secrets Revealed, past award recipients offer advice from their own experiences. Andromeda Romano-Lax, Hal Gage and Sheila Wyne tackle these questions and topics:

How do you get started on an application?

What should be in your Artist’s Statement?

How do you decide which work samples to include?

How do you best capture high quality images of your work?

Do you seek feedback before submitting?

Get started early.

Have you applied for a grant and not received it?

Can grants be used to pay bills in order to focus on art?

Do project budgets need to reach $7,500? Is a lower figure more competitive?

What if your project budget exceeds the grant limit?

Have grants helped to further your artistic careers?

Final thoughts?

You can view the entire 28 minute video here.

Project awards ($7,500) are for artists with short-term project needs.  Fellowships ($18,000) are awarded to mid-career and mature artists to advance their careers. The Distinguished Artist award ($40,000) recognizes creative excellence and superior accomplishments. Artists may apply for only one type of award and the Distinguished Artist Award is by nomination only.

 Applications may be filed online on the Rasmuson Foundation website.

Completed applications must be received or postmarked by 11:59 p.m., March 1.