For Immediate Release
Contact: Cassandra Stalzer, 907-334-0520

Anchorage, Alaska – Rasmuson Foundation is seeking nominations for the 2016 Distinguished Artist Award, recognizing superior artistic accomplishments of an Alaskan. The selected artist will receive $40,000.

“The Distinguished Artist Award is an opportunity to recognize the talents and contributions of extraordinary Alaska artists,” said Jeff Baird, program officer for Rasmuson Foundation. “We welcome the participation of Alaskans in this process to make sure our best artists are identified and their impact on our state is validated through this award.”

Past winners of the Distinguished Artist Award are Garry Kaulitz of Anchorage; Peggy Shumaker, Kes Woodward, John Luther Adams and John Haines of Fairbanks; Teri Rofkar of Sitka; Rie Munoz of Juneau; Ron Senungetuk of Homer; Sylvester Ayek of Nome; and Delores Elizabeth Churchill, Ray Troll and Nathan Jackson of Ketchikan.

Eligible artists include those who have dedicated themselves for at least the past 15 years to a significant professional arts career of any artistic discipline. Artists should also have an extensive independent body of work representing a life-long investigation and maturation of their personal creativity. Their work is usually widely recognized and influential in style, aesthetic or form.

Public nominations of artists who meet the Distinguished Artist Award criteria are welcome. Artists can also nominate themselves. Nominations may be submitted online here.

The Distinguished Artist Award is part of Rasmuson Foundation’s Individual Artist Awards program. In 2015, Rasmuson Foundation awarded $389,500 to 36 artists statewide. Since 2004, the Individual Artist Awards program has awarded more than 370 grants, of $3.1 million, directly to Alaska artists.

The Individual Artist Awards program also awards project grants of $7,500 for artists with short-term project needs, in addition to artist fellowship awards of $18,000 for mid-career and mature artists to advance their career. Applications for these two grant opportunities may be filed online on the Rasmuson Foundation website by March 1, 2016.

For additional information, or to request an application, call 907-297-2700 or 877-366-2700 (toll free in Alaska).

About the Foundation

Rasmuson Foundation was created in May 1955 by Jenny Rasmuson to honor her late husband, “E.A.” Rasmuson. Through grantmaking and initiatives, the Foundation is a catalyst to promote a better life for all Alaskans.