Meet Anchorage artist Garry Kaulitz, the 2015 Rasmuson Foundation Distinguished Artist. The $40,000 award recognizes an artist with stature and a history of creative excellence.

Garry Kaulitz (Video by Pat Race / Lucid Reverie)

Kaulitz was the twelfth Alaskan artist to receive the award and he joined a prestigious list of previous winners including Peggy Shumaker (2014), Teri Rofkar (2013), Kes Woodward (2012), Ray Troll (2011), John Luther Adams (2010), Nathan Jackson (2009), Ronald Senungetuk (2008), Rie Munoz (2007), Delores Churchill (2006), John Haines (2005) and Sylvester Ayek (2004).

Do you know someone worthy? Visit the Individual Artist Awards grant page for more information or nominate an Alaskan artist today.