Individual Artist Awards

Grants to artists to support the time, reflection, immersion or experimentation beneficial to the development of their artistry.


And the 2021 Distinguished Artist is …

Ernestine Saankaláxt’ Hayes of Juneau has received critical acclaim for writing that explores the complexities of Indigenous identity. She was named Rasmuson Foundation's 2021 Distinguished Artist.


Time to apply for 2021 Individual Artist Awards

Rasmuson Foundation is accepting applications for the 2021 Individual Artist Awards (IAA). Learn more about these awards, which help artists living and working in Alaska explore new creative ground.


Tlingit master carver Price is 2020 Distinguished Artist

Wayne Price is renowned for the artistry and precision of his formline work. He has restored and duplicated historic totem poles and structures as well as created numerous original designs. He helped revive the knowledge and techniques required to carve traditional oceangoing canoes. Price also teaches traditional arts as a path to healing, sobriety and well-being.

49 Writers

Mary Ida Henrikson

The Tongass National Forest in Southeast Alaska has long been home to painter Mary Ida Henrikson. Her nuanced artwork documents her connection to the temperate rainforest and her concern for the environment.

49 Writers

Abigail Kokai

Fiber artist Abigail Kokai creates works that reflect her interest in illustration, graphic design and interaction with objects around her. Her quilts narrate lived experiences, preserve places and times, and communicate the significance of individuals and communities.

Subscribe to our site

Contact Us

Give us a call before you apply and we’ll help you get started!
  • Phone
    (907) 297-2700
  • Toll-Free in Alaska
    (877) 366-2700